Skip to content

Gettin’ Dirty

April 26, 2010

Gettin’ dirty in the garden that is! WOW! What a fabulous weekend we had! It was sunny and 80 here in California and we took FULL advantage of it. Although we have a vegetable garden all year, we had a lot of work to do to get it ready for the spring/summer season.  I also needed to transplant some herbs and get some color going in my pots and flower beds.

Our herb boxes now contain:

  • Basil
  • Cilantro (my absolute favorite herb of all time)
  • Italian Flat Leaf Parsley
  • Oregano
  • Thyme
  • Sage
  • Chives

Our vegetable garden is full of:

  • Leeks
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Red Bell Peppers
  • Anaheim Mild Chili Peppers
  • Black Beauty Eggplant
  • San Marzano Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Brandywine Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Hillbilly Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Mama Mia Roma Tomatoes
  • Red Cherry Tomatoes
  • Yellow Pear Tomatoes
  • Zucchini
  • Yellow Squash
  • Beets
  • Cucumbers

My pots/flower beds now contain:

  • Cosmos ( my fav!)
  • Snap Dragons
  • Yellow Marigolds
  • Vincas
  • Impatiens

 

Last spring I had just given birth to Bubba-Loo when my husband got the garden ready. So clearly with my lack of sleep, focus, brain power, constant nursing, and diaper changes, I did none of it. It felt good to get out there again this year! I especially enjoyed the aftermath ~ sitting back with a big glass of white wine and admiring the work!

And in case you are wondering, YES we are tomato obsessed! I will keep you updated with pictures as our garden grows!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabrielle permalink
    April 26, 2010 8:23 pm

    I can’t wait to eat from your garden. I’ll be over with my tomato face and a wine glass in about 6 weeks! Good job!!

  2. April 26, 2010 11:01 pm

    Love it! We should totally do a veggie swap – you have some stuff we don’t have…

    • April 27, 2010 10:58 am

      Yes we should do a veggie swap! I also will supplement my veggies with stuff from our CSA- Eat with the Seasons. Yummy!

  3. Ashley permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:11 am

    Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun getting the garden ready. With so many amazing varieties of tomatoes, you’ll have such a badass spaghetti sauce! Have you tried Trader Joe’s Cilantro Salad Dressing? If you haven’t you should try it since you enjoy cilantro so much. 🙂

    • April 27, 2010 11:00 am

      I have tried that dressing, yummy! I also just make my own dressing with cilantro- little olive oil, cilantro, garlic, salt/pepper- yummy!

  4. Eugene Oody permalink
    April 29, 2010 9:38 am

    Rachel, I am so happy to know you are such an avid gardener along with Josh. I am home from the hospital and feeling pretty well. That was quite an ordeal. My neck surgery went well but after I had to go in the hospital where they discovered pneumonia and heart arythmia, that was quiet a deal. I am so happy to be home where Minnie will nurse me back to health. Supposedly the pneumonia is cleared up and my heart is back in rythm.

    Love to all,

    Dee

Leave a comment