Skip to content

Happy Earth Day!

April 22, 2010

I love Earth Day! In honor of this day, I wanted to share some great new products that I have been using at my house to reduce our waste and use less plastic. Not only are these products reuseable, they are just making my life SO much easier!! Less garbage, easier for storing food, and all around just making my life “cleaner”.

One of the first things that I did in my massive kitchen overhaul was to throw away all of our old yucky plastic Tupperware. Seriously, these things were old! Chipping, stained nastiness! I replaced them with Snapware Glasslock Tempered Glass Storage Containers. I actually got them at Costco for a fabulous price, so if you are interested in getting them, check there too. The great thing about these is that they can go in the dishwasher, microwave, and freezer! I am always making homemade tomato sauces and soups and to be able to store and freeze leftovers in tempered glass containers makes me do a happy dance! 🙂

Many of the new green products for our house I bought from The Soft Landing. I love this online store/blog. Fabulous products and great info. You can click on the above link to check them out or click on the right link to visit them!

One of the BEST products that both Miss Moo and I LOVE are Lunchbots! We got the small divided yellow Lunchbot and the bigger divided orange Lunchbot. They are stainless steel and have a divider down the middle to separate lunch items. They are easy to wash and are very durable!

When I did my household clean-out, I still had kiddie tupperwares from when Sadie was a baby. Nasty plastic that I am sure was chocked full of BPA. I replaced these with Kids Konserve Stainless Steel containers. I really like these containers as well and they come in three great sizes! Kids Konserve also makes other products that you might like.

My favorite purchase of all (well really I love all of these new products, can’t you tell?!) were the Kidishes by Duralex.

I had been using the cheapy plastic dishes from Target for kids. While cute and with dividers on the plate to separate foods, these are just not something I want my kids eating off of anymore. Out they went! We now use the Kidishes plates, Kidishes bowls, and Kidishes glasses. These dishes are more resistant, chip resistant, hygienic, and are dishwasher, fridge, and microwave safe. All of these dishes are made from tempered glass so if something does break, you won’t have shards of glass.  However, these dishes are literally impossible to break. Check out this demo video:

One last little change that I made was using wax paper bags instead of using the standard ziplock bags. My friend Ashley told me about these (thanks Ash!) ~ Natural Value Wax Paper Bags. I bought these at Whole Foods.

So on this Earth Day if you feel like making a difference and making some changes in your house, try some of these products! I love them all. Not only have they made things easier for me in my house, they are also good for the Earth! Reduce, Reuse, Recycle!

Also, if you are looking for fun Earth Day activities to do with your kids, stop by and visit my friend Sue over Motherhood and Me! She planned an Earth Day Party!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. always needs a vaca!!! permalink
    April 22, 2010 2:36 pm

    Yes I did all that revamping when I was on my no plastic in the house phase.. I almost threw out the microwave too, but decided to just use it as little as possible (plus Eddie was NOT a fan)! I didn’t know about the wax paper bags! Nice! That has been my last plastic thing that I hadn’t really looked into replacing. I like the tempered glass stuff for the kids!!

  2. April 22, 2010 3:09 pm

    You are so amazing! I am totally inspired. Lets get together soon so I can pick your brain. What is your schedule like the next 2 weeks??

    Jenni

  3. April 22, 2010 4:09 pm

    Happy Earth Day!!! Mom & I went for a walk down South Avenue today (haven’t done that in about a year). While I was walking, I was noticing so much garbage that was strewn about. I said that on the way back I’d start to pick it up for Earth Day, walking by & leaving behind a signature Baskin & Robbins spoon in that oh-so-lovely pink color.

    Anyway…I couldn’t wait for the way back. I saw a Pirate’s Booty bag on the road and started filling it. I filled that to the top, with shit busting outta the bottom… threw that away and by the time we got back to town, both of us had both our hands full with garbage with more trash stuffed into my pants!!! That gives new definition to a trashy girl who can’t keep her pants on!!! Hee Hee!

    We both felt very good after our E.D. escapade!!!

    Other good products…Kids Konserve has these amazing sandwich wraps that I use to wrap the kids’ sammies for lunch bunch…plus snack sacks that are amazing!!!

    Love you…but, gotta go!!!

  4. Cheryl permalink
    April 22, 2010 6:49 pm

    Wow! You (and Ashley) are truly Earth Day champions! We have been trying to live greener and these are some practical next steps. I am literally ready to go raid my kitchen. You are an inspiration! Many thanks.

  5. April 22, 2010 7:17 pm

    Love these items! Will have to check them out and thanks for the linky love.

Leave a Reply

