Skip to content

Who Doesn’t like Cocoa Chocolate Chip Pancakes??

April 8, 2010

 

The answer to this question is: MY KIDS. Seriously? What is wrong with them?

I have been trying to revamp the kids recipes and meals. They seem bored eating the same thing (well not Sadie) and there are constant food battles that frankly I am just tired of. I am thinking they want some new flavors, especially Ty-Ty. Miss Moo on the other hand would be happy eating Rising Moon Organics Itsy Bitsy Raviloi’s  for

 

 

EVERY

 

 

MEAL

 

 

OF

 

 

EVERY

 

 

DAY

 

 

FOR

 

 

THE

 

 

REST

 

 

OF

 

 

HER

 

 

LIFE.

We need to start making family dinners and eating with them more. But let’s face it, with Josh’s work schedule and the fact that the kids go to bed early, it is hard. I am hoping by doing this slowly but surely, the kids will eat more of a variety of foods.

I bought The Sneaky Chef Cookbook which seems like a great way to incorporate hidden goods into the foods your kids eat. You make a mix of purees ahead of time and then use them in different recipes. You are basically sneaking pureed veggies and whole grains into your kids food. I am not sure how I feel about this. They should just eat vegetables and I shouldn’t have to sneak them into their foods. But lately Sadie has not been eating ANYTHING green. I had some baby spinach and blueberries so I made the “purple puree”. What is something that you sneak this purple puree into? Why Cocoa Chocolate Chip Pancakes of course! YUMMY! Sounds great! I will make these as a special treat for dinner. The kids will get some whole wheat flour, wheat germ, spinach, blueberries, and of course chocolate for dinner!! Yippeee!! They will totally eat these.

 

 

WRONG.

 

 

NOPE.

 

 

NO.

 

 

Literally they each had ONE bite.

 

 

Maybe they are nasty? Nope, I had one.

 

 

They are DELICIOUS.

 

What is wrong with my kids? If it wasn’t for the fact that they looked EXACTLY like us, I might think they were somebody else’s. Who doesn’t like Cocoa Chocolate Chip Pancakes? Apparently my kids don’t.

 

Back to the drawing board….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. always needs a vaca!!! permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:49 am

    Ha!! They sound good to me!!! I don’t know about the hiding veggies thing either!! Doesn’t the chocolate cancel the spinach out!? Sadie wouldn’t be your kid if she didn’t rebel a little!!;)

  2. Jenn permalink
    April 9, 2010 6:32 am

    LOVE you’re writing a blog, Rach! Can’t wait to follow. 🙂 I will definitely be making these pancakes. They sound delish!

  3. Julie M permalink
    April 9, 2010 7:29 am

    Hey Rach! I have the same issue. I bought all of these cookbooks to make Caroline tasty organic healthy food and she takes one bite and spits it out. The stuff tastes good. Somehow we always end up with the chicken nuggets or grilled cheese!!! I give up!!!

  4. Dad permalink
    April 9, 2010 7:29 pm

    When you guys are here next week, I’ll have one of my special yogurt smoothies with Sadie….except there’ll be some extra special ingredients I used to use with my patients. HEALTHY!

    And she’ll love ’em.

Leave a Reply

