Skip to content

Recognizing Veggies: Proud Mama Moment

April 5, 2010

Have you seen the new show on ABC: Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution??????

If not, you are seriously missing out! Click on the link above and you can watch previously aired episodes on your computer. It airs on ABC on Friday nights- set your TIVO’s!

While there are many appalling parts of this show, the segment that really had the WOW factor for me was when Jamie was asking a group of students to name vegetables that he was showing them. Well, and of course the making of chicken nuggets out of a carcass with ALL of the meat taken off was equally if not more appalling. Actually, it was just plain nasty. This group of 1st graders did not recognize ANY vegetables. WHAT???????

I guess the reason the vegetable scene struck a chord with me was because I wondered, does Sadie know all of those vegetables?? She must right?? We have a big vegetable garden in our backyard, we go to Farmer’s Markets, we have children’s gardening books, she loves looking at Josh’s big gardening book… but does she know what certain vegetables look like? Could she recognize them if I showed and asked her? I mean, let’s get serious. She definitely is NOT a good vegetable eater. Something I am hoping to eventually change through pure torture  guidance and choice. I remember the summer she was finally walking. She used to walk straight across the lawn and pick little tomatoes off the vines and pop them into her mouth! Not anymore…

After watching this episode of Jamie’s show, I just had to find out. So over the last week, I have been asking her about different vegetables that are in the refrigerator and in our garden (gotta love CA weather so we can have yummy veggies all year!) I am happy to report that YES Sadie does recognize LOTS of vegetables! I was pretty impressed actually and was glowing with pride…at least I have done something right.

Sadie recognizes:

Broccoli

Cauliflower

Lettuce

Tomatoes

Spinach

Eggplant

Carrots

Bell Peppers

Artichokes

Cucumbers

Leeks

Potato

Peas

Corn

Green Beans

Zucchini

Asparagus

Pretty good for a 3-year-old if I do say so myself! I will continue to ask her and teach her what  different vegetables are as we move into summer season. Now I just need to get her to EAT all of these vegetables!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. youngwifey permalink
    April 5, 2010 3:37 pm

    Yay! Good job!

  2. April 5, 2010 3:47 pm

    wow… such a wonderful post…
    outstanding balance of lines and words….
    Learnt a lot from you….

    visit mine… & plz plz plz post your comments….

    Thank you…

    I’ll be in touch…

  3. T. Eugene Oody permalink
    April 5, 2010 5:07 pm

    Good for Sadie with so much knowledge about vegetables that are good for her health.

    We saw the birthday pictures of Tyler and his birthday cake. It looked like both Sadie and he enjoyed it very much.

    Have a great evening.

    Love,

    Dee

  4. Arvie permalink
    April 5, 2010 6:09 pm

    Great post!!! Congrats to Sadie. Very good job!

  5. April 5, 2010 6:37 pm

    Good for you and Sadie. I doubt Brayden would know even one of those and I cook them all the time!

  6. always needs a vaca!!! permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:29 am

    Sadie knows leeks???? I just figured those out a few yrs ago!!!! She’ll be a veggie eating machine soon enough, she’s surrounded!!!;)

  7. Jilly D permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:29 am

    Sadie recognizes Leeks? Crud, I don’t even… I like them, but pick them out – nah…

  8. April 9, 2010 9:59 am

    We have been growing leeks in our garden since we moved into this house- that is how she recognizes them. She does NOT eat them. One thing at a time….

Leave a Reply

