Skip to content

Recipe of the Week: Take 1

March 30, 2010

Since it is cold, wet and gloomy here in CA, I decided that I should make what is hopefully my last pot of soup of the season. Wishful thinking, right? I LOVE soup in the winter. I love making big pots of it and having it for multiple dinners and lunches. After all, what kind of SAHM has time to cook 3 meals a day from scratch? I certainly don’t. I had gorgeous leeks from a local farmers market that I wanted to use, so I decided on Potato Leek Soup.

I wanted to do a healthy version of this soup. A recipe that I LOVE is the Barefoot Contessa’s Roasted Potato Leek Soup. However, there is a little too much cream in it for me (especially since I am trying to shed the last 5 lbs of this baby weight). Tyler turns one tomorrow and yes I still have a few to lose. I like to think of it as I need to do some “toning”. This recipe also takes a long time to make, time I simply don’t have.

Also decide on what distraction you will have for the kids while you attempt to make dinner. Tonight mine was allowing Tyler to play in the door of the refrigerator (hey whatever works, right??) And yes, that is a bottle of Charles Shaw white wine (AKA 2 buck chuck from Trader Joe’s!)

Below is my healthier, edited version of the recipe.

Ingredients:

4 large leeks (white and light green parts only)

2 Tbsp butter

4 cups (1 quart) chicken broth

2 lbs potatoes (roughly 5 Russet potatoes), peeled and diced

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme

¼ cup dry white wine

Splash of Tabasco sauce (my husband likes spicy and a kick to his food)

Salt & Pepper

Topping:  (Optional. They take a while to make!)

Inspired by Barefoot Contessa’s Crispy Shallot Recipe

2 shallots

¼ cup olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

Directions:

1. Wash and cut leeks lengthwise and clean well. Leeks tend to have sand/dirt in them so they need to be cut and cleaned well.

2. Chop leeks into rounds, they will naturally separate while they cook.

3. Melt butter in large pot. Add leeks to butter and season with salt and pepper. Cover pan, cook on low heat for 10-15 minutes. Do not brown leeks or they will taste burned.

4. Add chicken broth and potatoes. Bring to a simmer and cook for 20-30 minutes, or until the potatoes are soft. Scoop about ½ to ¾ of the soup mixture into a blender, puree and return to pan. Add parsley, thyme, and white wine. Add a few dashes of Tabasco, salt and pepper to taste.

5. Check for consistency of soup. I added about ½ to 1 cup of water to thin it out some. Depends on how you like your soup!

6. If you decide you want the shallots on top, heat butter and olive oil in a small sauce pan. Slice shallots and add to pan. Cook on medium-low for about 45 minutes. These are delicious on top of this soup!!

7. Serve soup into bowls and enjoy with a much deserved glass of wine!

One Comment leave one →
  1. always needs a vaca!!! permalink
    March 31, 2010 5:50 am

    Always love getting new recipes from you!!!! Can’t wait to try it!! Although a little humid in Miami at the moment for soup… and I’m really hoping for non-soup weather when we get home as well!!!

Leave a Reply

